Liberia Lone Star Off To Nigeria For FIFA 2022 World Cup Qualifier

Ahead of their fixture against the Super Eagles, the Lone Star of Liberia left the country on Tuesday, August 31, 2021 and to land in Lagos three days before the showdown with Nigeria for the start of the Qatar FIFA 2022 World Cup qualifiers. 

Four overseas players, seven local lads, and a hosts of the entire delegation headed by Executive Committee Member Jodie Seton boarded Air Côte d’Ivoire bound for Murtala Muhammed International Airport.

The four overseas players are Abrahim Mohammed Soumaoro, Justin Salmon, Ayouba Kosiah, and Van-Dave Harmon. The seven local players are Sampson Dweh, Alvin Maccornel, Carlos Williams, Tommy Songo, Morlik Keita, Teah Dennis, and Daniel Paye.

Madam Seton leads the delegation that is inclusive of Deputy Minister for Sports G. Andy Quamie, Rep Dixon Seboe, Lone Star Administrative Manager Sebastian Collins, Head Coach Peter Butler, Assistant Coach Christopher Wreh and Trainer George Gebro.

Others include Head Doctor Tousou Y. Jallabah, Goalkeeper trainer Sunday Sieh, Physiotherapist Patrick Konuwa, and Kit man Sunnyboy Mason.

There is one journalist from Spoon Group of Companies in James Flomo who is traveling on the Lone Star plane alongside LFA Deputy Communication Manager, Gologo Benjamin Garkpah. 

The flight is expected to land in the West African city of Lagos by 2100Hrs because of few transits along the coast. 

The Lone Star are hoping to qualify for the global football showpiece for the first time in their history, but they must negotiate their way past Gernot Rohr’s men, Cape Verde, and Central African Republic in Group C.

Head coach Peter Butler’s men will jet in at Murtala Muhammed International Airport on August 31.

Three days after slugging it out against Nigeria, they welcome the Central African Republic in Cameroon.

Coach Butler is bullish of the Lone Star’s chances against Rohr’s side at the Teslim Balogun Stadium.

‘’I am going to compete, be organized and be attacked-minded,” the Englishman told the media.

“Firstly, I don’t use social media and a lot of those young lads who were listed, I didn’t select them and whoever did that is false to start with.

“It’s going to be a tough group and favorites Nigeria have got qualities and are heavily funded as compared to us, but I’m going to back myself against any coach in this group.

“They have Wilfred [Ndidi], Kelechi [Iheanacho], Alex [Iwobi] I could name more…but we’re going to be competitive and I believe we’re going to offset a few teams on the road.”

Full Squad

Goalkeepers: Ashley Williams (RB Linense, Spain), Tommy Sango (LISCR, Liberia), Morlik Keita (Mighty Barrolle, Liberia).

Defenders: Prince Balde (KF Drita, Kosovo), Jeremy Saygbe (RB Linense, Spain), Alvin Maccornel (Watanga, Liberia), Sampson Dweh (LPRC Oilers, Liberia), Daniel Paye (Bea Mountain, Liberia), Teah Dennis (Monrovia Club Breweries, Liberia), Carlos Williams (Watanga, Liberia).

Midfielders: Abrahim Mohamed Soumaoro (Paeek FC, Cyprus), Murphy Dorley (Slavia Prague, Czech Republic), Marcus Macauley (Sahab FC, Jordan), Terrence Tisdell (Kocaelispor, Turkey), Justin Salmon (Degerfor IF, Sweden), David Tweh (Rukh Brest, Belarus), Allen Njie (FC Aarau, Switzerland), Abu Kamara (FC Makedonijagjp, North Macedonia).

Forwards: Ayouba Kosiah (NAC Breda II, Netherlands), Kpah Sherman (Kedah Darul Aman FC, Malaysia), Mohammed Kamara (Hatayspor, Turkey), and Van-Dave Harmon (unattached).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.