Midterm analysis:118 aspirants chasing 15 Senatorial seats; who’s in, who’s out!

The National Elections Commission (NEC) has released the provisional listing for the Special Senatorial Election scheduled for December 8, 2020. A total of 118 persons are in the race, including 20 females and 98 males.

Two former Speakers of the House of Representatives, Edwin Melvin Snowe, Jr. (Independent Candidate) and Jeneka Alex Tyler (Coalition for Democratic Change) are locking horns in Bomi County alongside incumbent Senator Sando Dazoe Johnson (Collaborating Political Parties).  The rest are Zobong Boima Norman (Rainbow Alliance) and Soko Adama Dorley (Independent Candidate).

A total of six aspirants are in the race as Independent Candidates in Bong County, namely former Representative Adam Bill Corneh, Menipakei Dumoe, Mogana Szorkpor Flomo, Jr. (former Agriculture), Mohammed A. Nasser, Benedict Kpakama Sagbeh and Dorothy Kwennah Toomann. The rest are incumbent Senator Henry Willie Yallah (Coalition for Democratic Change) and Deputy House Speaker Prince Kermue Moye (Collaborating Political Parties).  

Former Senate Pro Temp Armah Zolu is seeking re-election on the ticket of the People’s Unification Party (PUP) but faces eight contestants in Gbarpolu County. They include Representative Alfred Gayflor Koiwood (Coalition for Democratic Change), Prof. Alaric K. Tokpa (National Democratic Coalition), John Kerkula Benda, Sr. (Liberia Transformation Party) and Allen M. Gbowee (Movement for Progressive Change). Others are Sam Kamara Zinnah (Collaborating Political Parties), Paul Koulboi Kennedy (Liberia National Union), Boima Quaye Taweh, III (United People’s Party) and Botoe Kanneh (Independent Candidate).    

Incumbent Senator Nyonblee Karnga Lawrence (Collaborating Political Parties) is being heavily challenged by former Senate Pro Temp and Foreign Minister Gbehzohngar Milton Findley (Coalition for Democratic Change) and Representative Vincent S.T. Willie, II (Independent Candidate). The rest are Anthony Neki Barchue (Independent), Emmanuel Bravy Daykeay (National Democratic Coalition), Dave Llewellyn Dixon (Independent Candidate), Magdalene Garmondeh Harris ((Independent Candidate) and Charles Paul Vah, II (Rainbow Alliance).

In Grand Cape Mount County, incumbent Representatives Emerson Vayomo Kamara (People’s Unification Party) and Mambu M. Sonii (Independent Candidate) are battling to thwart the re-election of Senator Victor Varney Watson (Coalition for Democratic Change). Dr. Fodee Kromah (Independent Candidate), Simeon Boima Taylor (Collaborating Political Parties), Jebel Dakel Brown (Rainbow Alliance), Hawa B. Corneh-Bropleh (Liberia National Union), Siafa Gargbeh Sheriff (Liberia Restoration Party), Sando Wayne (United People’s Party) and Edwin G.K. Zoedua (Movement for Progressive Change) are the rest of the aspirants.

In Grand Gedeh County, incumbent Senator Alphonso Gaye is not seeking re-election, but two incumbent Representatives Zoe Emmanuel Pennue, Sr. (Coalition for Democratic Change) and George Saigbe Boley, Sr. (United People’s Party) are among those eyeing the vacant seat. Others include Amos Zleh (Rainbow Alliance), William G. Nyanue (Independent Candidate) and Thomas Nimely Yaya (Liberia Restoration Party). The rest are Cyrus S. Cooper (People’s Unification Party), Felicia Flahn Doboyonnoh Duncan (Collaborating Political Parties), Joseph W. Geebor (Movement for Progressive Change) and Beatrice Wonnah Johnson (Independent Candidate).

Incumbent Grand Kru County Senator Peter Coleman is seeking re-election on the ticket of the ruling Coalition for Democratic Change (CDC) but he faces challenges from current Representative Nathaniel N. Barway, Sr. (Liberia National Union) and former Representative Numene T.H. Bartekwa (Independent Candidate). Other aspirants are Lawrence Snor Clarence (Movement for Progressive Change), Alfred Toe Segbe (Independent Candidate), Rosalind Segbe Tonne Sneh (Coalition Political Parties), William Wiah Tuider (Independent Candidate), George Toe Sieh Washington (National Democratic Coalition) and Nicholas N. Doryen Wleh (Rainbow Alliance).

In Lofa County, incumbent Senator George Tamba Tengbeh (Coalition for Democratic Change) will have to contend with the likes of Brownie Jeffrey Samukai, Jr. (Collaborating Political Parties), Joseph Kpator Jallah (Independent Candidate), Tamba Dabah Aghailas (Independent Candidate), Representative Mariamu Beyan Fofana (All Liberian Coalition Party) and Abrahim M. Dukuly (Rainbow Alliance) to contend with. Others are Representative Julie Fatorma Wiah (Independent Candidate), Johnny Kongblie Moniba Ndebe (Liberia National Union), Gordon Nyuma Moiwula (Liberia Restoration Party), Mohamed O. Kamara (Independent Candidate) and Dedeh Norh Jones (Independent Candidate).  

Former Speaker Emmanuel James Nuquay (People’s Unification Party) and Representative Ben A. Fofana (Collaborating Political Parties) are going against incumbent Senator Oscar Cooper (Independent Candidate) in Margibi County. Also in the race are Princess S. Macaulay (Movement for Progressive Change), Representative Ivah Kokulo Jones (Coalition for Democratic Change), Alexander Bango Collins (Independent Candidate) and Gabriel Gahie Bedell, Jr. (Independent Candidate).

In Montserrado County, incumbent Senator Abraham Darius Dillon (Collaborating Political Parties) will be facing Thomas Pangar Fallah (Coalition for Democratic Change), Bernard DJ-Blue Benson (Independent Candidate), Phil Tarpeh Dixon (Independent Candidate), Evangeline Israel King  (Independent Candidate), Sheikh Al-Moustapha Kouyateh (Independent Candidate), Siah Jarmie Tandanpolie (Movement for Progressive Change), Cecelia Siaway Teah (National Democratic Coalition), Isaac Vah Tukpah, Jr. (Independent Candidate) and Jamima K.H. Wolokolie (Movement for One Liberia).  

A total of seven aspirants have emerged for the Senate seat in Nimba County. They are incumbent Senator Thomas S. Grupee (Movement for Progressive Change), Representative Jeremiah Kpan Koung (Movement for Democracy and Reconstruction), D. Dorr Cooper (Rainbow Alliance), Saye-Taayor Dolo (Independent Candidate), Edith Lianue Gongloe-Weh (Collaborating Political Parties), Taa Z. Wongbe (Independent Candidate) and Garrison Doldeh Yealue (People’s Unification Party).

River Gee County has incumbent Senator Matthew N. Jaye (Independent Candidate), Jonathan Boycharles Sogbie (Collaborating Political Parties), Representative Francis Saywon Younge (Independent Candidate) and Charles Korkor Bardyl (Coalition for Democratic Change).

The aspirants for Rivercess County include incumbent Senator Dallas A.V. Gueh (Coalition for Democratic Change), Janjay M. Bloh (Rainbow Alliance), Winston Garpue Borbor (United People’s Party) and Prince B. Brown (Liberia National Union). The rest are Wellington Geevon Smith (Independent Candidate), Gabriel Buchanan Smith (Collaborating Political Parties), Eddie Jarque Strother (Movement for Progressive Change), Steve Tequah (Independent Candidate) and Bob Randy Ziankahn (People’s Unification Party).

Sinoe County has four senatorial aspirants, comprising incumbent Senator Augustine S. Chea (Coalition for Democratic Change), Andy M.S. Cheesman (True Whig Party), Thomas Romeo Quiah (Independent Candidate) and Grace Scotland-Briama (Collaborating Political Parties).                           

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.