Reps. Thomas Fallah, Acarous Gray, A. Kanie Wesso, Crayton Duncan, Johnson Gwaikolo others appointed to HoR Leadership

Several Legislators have been appointed to the leadership of the House of Representatives as Speaker Chambers begins the fourth session of the Legislature. Fifteen out of twenty six committees have already been announced.

Appointment is a core Legislative power given to the Speaker as forming what would be considered a cabinet under his authority for the smooth running of the House of Representatives.

The new appointment comes days after a heated Deputy Speaker election that saw Chair on Judiciary, Fonati Koffa take a flight to the second in command of the body.

Most key and influential supporters of Koffa made their way to Leadership or maintained their already existing roles as more CDCIANS play dominant roles in the new leadership.

Committees on Foreign Relations, Judiciary, Education, Ways, Means, Finance and the Budget, Education, Health, Gender, Hydro Carbon, Commerce, Claims and Petition, Transport, Banking and Currency, Lands and Mines amongst others were affected by the new action.

Cllr. Kanie Wesso now replaces Cllr. Fonati Koffa on the Judiciary Committee while Rep. Crayton Duncan moves to Foreign Affairs, Thomas Fallah comes back to Ways, Means, Finance and the Budget while Rep. Johnson Gwaikolo retains his Chair on Education role. Others include Rep. Acarous Gray, Chair on Executive, Rosanna Shaack, Chair on Gender Parity.

Montserrado Dist 15 lawmaker, Hon. Abu Bana Karmara, Chair on Hydro Carbon, Hon Suacoco Dennis Co-Chair, Hon. Joseph Somwarbi, Chair on Health while Rep. Vincent Willie maintains his Chairmanship on Lands and Mines.

The Committee on Transport will be chaired by Hon. Emmerson V. Kamara and Co Chaired by Hon. Robert Wongba, while the Committee on Commerce will be chaired by Hon. Samuel G. Kogar and Co-Chaired by Hon. Abraham Vomoyan Conneh.

CDC strong man, Hon. Dixon Seboe chairs the Committee on
Banking and Currency while Hon Hanson Kiazolu of UP Co chairs. Hon. Prince Tokpah will chair the Committee on Agriculture and Co-Chaired by Hon. Francis Young.

Speaker Chambers also named Hon. Alex Grant formerly of the committee on Elections as Chair on State Own Enterprises while Hon. Ellen Attoh-Wreh as Co-Chair.

More appointments are expected to be made in the soonest the Speaker asserted.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.