Three Commissioners tenure expire at Maritime but hanging on?

By Charles Yates

There are reports of Constitutional violation at the Liberia Maritime Authority with three commissioners tenure coming to close

The three Deputy Maritime bosses include:
Cllr. Margret Ansumana- Deputy Commissioner for Maritime Operation, Emmanuel Nuku Reees- Deputy Commissioner for Financial Affairs and
Charles A. Gono- Deputy Commissioner for Vessel registration and safety.

A Whistleblower investigation revealed that there are plans to secretly amend the Maritime law to keep the trio permanently in office.
Reports have it that this is the second time tenures of these officials have expired. It was first in 2016 but they got reappointed by former President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf.

The three commissioners got their first appointments in 2008 by former President Sirleaf before the maritime act was amended in 2010, which then granted them tenure status.

The Maritime Act grants commissioner (Head of the Maritime Program Liberia) five years tenure while deputies four years tenure.

The three deputies, appointed in 2016, September tenures expired September 2020 awaiting reappointment which has not happened to date but they keep holding onto their positions.

The Maritime law however states that Deputy Commissioners can not serve two terms.

We are yet to get word from Maritime Boss Eugene Maybe as his phone rang endlessly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.